No one values a hug today,

But, to me it’s a precious gift,

From down in the dumps, to a snappy mood,

Anything, a hug can lift.

Many-a-types of hugs you have,

But forever my favorite remains,

A warm tight, bear like squeeze,

While laughing like we’ve got no brains!

I love the cuddly, sweet smelling kind,

Full of love and care,

The ones I can feel even when alone

Seeming like you’re still there.

I hate the ones given half-heartedly,

As though not worth the time,

And hugs without feelings involved?

Gosh! What a crime!

Goodbye hugs, they’re alright,

But not a wanted kind,

Unless there’s a promise of seeing you the next-

Them, I then lovely find.

So many people, so many cuddles,

But like yours there is no hug,

That keeps me safe, a warmth spreading all over,

Feeling snug like a bug in a rug.

But you know what, most of all

Makes me feel the best?

Its lying with you, all tucked in,

Cuddling, forgetting the rest.

The hugs we shared, when I cried,

Took away all my pain,

It’s my favorite thing, hugging you,

Wish I could  do it again!

Of all the simple things in life,

There’s nothing that shows emotions true,

Like a hug from you to me

Or one from me to you.

