They say that dogs are a man’s best friend. This is an adage I believe to be true. However, Buddy is not just my best friend. He is the most important member of our family. Mornings, at 1 Meghdoot apartments, begin with Buddy’s incessant barking and the sound of his nails scrambling against the door to get us to let him in! “It’s a new day! Let’s play!” he says. And he won’t stop, until someone throws the ball around, so he can jump up and down along with it while it bounces.

For breakfast, Buddy enjoys having the most expensive pack of digestive biscuits, dipped in sweet tea. However, in the absence of these, he will compromise and have a few cookies from ‘Sun and Sand’, or perhaps, a sausage from my plate. He then expects a thorough belly rub, and finally chooses to snooze in front of the air conditioner.

Buddy has to play for at least 28 hours every day. If his quota isn’t met, he WILL show his displeasure by chewing on our slippers. Socks are sometimes held hostage for treats. As are cushions, teddy bears and golf balls.

Proving the myth to be true, Buddy is adept at tearing apart my projects and somehow manages to almost always rip apart reports due the next day.

‘Ma’am, my dog really ate my homework.’

Of course all dogs have been gifted with a super power known as ‘Puppy Eyes’. One look at that adorable face and all sins are forgiven.

Buddy’s feeding time is an entertaining event. The entire household gathers around him while he idly stares at his bowl, as though not knowing what to do with it, and tells him what a good boy he is, until fed up, he decides to eat the ‘food for commoners’ given to him, just to make us all go away. Often, friends are invited home, just to butter his highness into eating.

Buddy is the most ‘vocal’ part of our family, and he never fails to make his presence felt, especially during conversations in the kitchen. If ignored, he will retaliate by walking around the living room with muddy paws and jumping onto my bed with the same.

 

Every evening, Buddy will trot over to my father’s room and sit there, with his head tilted, until he is asked the question, “who’s my good boy? Is there a better boy around? How can there be a better boy than Buddy? “, which he replies to with a haughty “ruff” and walks away, shaking his stump of a tail.

 

Why own a dog then? you ask me.

 

Get welcomed home by a dog, after a long tiring day, and you will understand.

Buddy isn’t just happy to see us back, he’s ecstatic, as though life is perfect now. He will follow us around and listen to us grumble about our days, without asking for anything in exchange. He’s just happy we are home.

My favourite part of the day is lying in bed, under my covers, with Buddy squeezed beside me.  You just feel complete.

Dogs only want to be loved. And I can guarantee you, spend a day with a dog, and you would only want to love him back.

 

They say that dogs are a man’s best friend, and I’m glad I have Buddy as mine.

